The Evil that is L’Oreal

I think going Cruelty Free means that eventually you start resenting brands for what they are doing behind the scenes and what they show to the public to make them buy their products. I am sure vegans, vegetarians, animal welfare activists and Cruelty Free shoppers would agree. So today I thought I would discuss my dislike of one brand; L’Oreal.

L’Oreal make a wide, wide range of products from makeup to haircare, market their brand as a luxury, trendy mid-level brand and sell their products all over the world. But that’s the problem; L’Oreal sell their products to China.

loreallogo

Here is L’Oreals statement on animal testing, from their website which is cited below.

L’Oréal is committed to only market products whose safety has been evaluated according to rigorous and ethical protocols…Traditionally, the safety assessment of products and ingredients was done by means of animal testing.

However, since the 1980s, L’Oréal believes that the future of safety evaluation lies in the development of alternative, “predictive” strategies. This approach is built on the substantial scientific progress being made in the fields of reconstructed skin models, molecular modeling and also high-performance data processing. It allows us to exploit all of the data that the Group has been accumulated over the course of a century, representing over 50 000 ingredients.

These new strategies and the considerable research efforts behind them have paid off: in 1989, L’Oréal was able to end all testing of its products on animals, without making our products any less safe. Since March 2013, the Group has taken another decisive step: The Group no longer tests on animal, anywhere in the world, and does not delegate this task to others. An exception could be made if regulatory authorities required it for safety or regulatory purposes.

More than 30 years ago L’Oréal chartered a new course that today allows us to innovate for beauty around the world without recourse to animal testing.

http://www.loreal.com/csr-commitments/l%E2%80%99or%C3%A9al-answers/the-question-of-animal-testing

What really REALLY irritates me about this statement is that they have worded it to make it sound like they don’t test on animals at all and that they are a completely Cruelty Free company when they are not! Nor are they being compassionate towards animals in any way whatsoever.

08harlow-811x1024

Yes, previously animal testing was essential to any skin/hair/makeup/household product as we had no other means of testing what was being made, such as in the 1950s, and our attitudes towards many things including animal testing was also entirely different. So L’Oreals first paragraph is completely true.

baby-milk-tea1

However, they make a big deal of them stopping animal testing in 2013 and becoming a more compassionate company, when in reality it was simply that new legislation came into place in March 2013 which meant it was illegal to sell products that have been tested on animals in Europe, even if said testing was done outside of the EU. So L’Oreal are simply following the law, not stopping the torture they make animals endure for their products.

law

The main issue in this statement however is the last line;

An exception could be made if regulatory authorities required it for safety or regulatory purposes.

79809871

This means that the if a country requires animal testing to be done for them to sell their products in that country, they ‘make an exception’. For example, China insist upon all cosmetics being tested on animals before being allowed on the Chinese market, and L’Oreal are happy for them to do so for their products, which completely goes against everything they have said in their statement. They are happy to sell their products to China and cause mass amounts of animal suffering and death for them to have a bigger profit. China have no animal welfare laws and the experiments which they force on animals is horrific, not to mention the countless other barbaric ways they treat animals in that country.

Now, L’Oreal is no different to any other big company out there like Estee Lauder who own Mac, Avon or any of the big makeup brands. Except who they own and who owns them.

download

L’Oreal own the Body Shop, who market themselves as a Cruelty Free brand. But how can this brand be Cruelty Free when they are up there as one of the biggest companies who export to China? The Body Shop gives the majority of their money to L’Oreal, and whilst that money might not be allowed to directly go to animal testing, it certainly allows other money to be spent on it. In 2014 the Body Shop paid L’Oreal over £21.5 million which helped fund L’Oreals torture of animals by experimentation and funding research in China.

As Naturewatch says on their website;

There’s no getting away from the fact that purchases made at The Body Shop boost the profits of L’Oréal, its parent company – as is clearly seen in L’Oréal’s Annual Financial Report.

The Body Shop is proving time and time again that it really is ‘worth it’ for L’Oréal.  The media has reported that it handed over a dividend of £39.9 million in July 2013, and in 2014 its dividend contribution totaled £21.5 million.

308112318

And the Body Shop is no better than L’Oreal. The Body Shop has a questionable past in regards to animal testing and animal welfare, and whilst some people say its owner Annita Roddick would be devastated to know L’Oreal own her brand, I’m not so sure. I believe she knew about the takeover and was happy for it to continue. Her view on animal testing again is very questionable and I would never trust the Body Shop to be completely honest about its past.

BUAV_logo_bar_FULL_colour_transparent

They might be approved by the BUAV but that is because the Body Shop and the BUAV have gone into a partnership together and the BUAV promotes them because of this! Ultimately the BUAV supports the Body Shop as Cruelty Free brand, which means both compassionate Cruelty Free shoppers and non-compassionate shoppers buy their products, which means a higher revenue for L’Oreal which means more money for animal testing, product development and further testing in China, and confirming to L’Oreal and the Body Shop that they can continue to hide the truth from people and they will still get millions of pounds! The Body Shop is NOT Cruelty Free because L’Oreal is not Cruelty Free and the allow animal testing on their products to raise their revenues.

7c26f9562143adace98f9ebd576402d1

Naturewatch, one of the best animal welfare organisations, has a whole page about this on their website, and Boycotting L’Oreal and the Body Shop. We need to stop thinking we can buy Body Shop products, because we are being lied to by the BUAV and by the Body Shop AND L’Oreal. Please see Naturewatchs website here to understand the issue in full and Boycott the Body Shop!

nestle

This is also why I refuse to buy anything from Nestle, as they own L’Oreal and ultimately, profits that are made from animal testing go to Nestle, and I cannot support a company that profits from animal testing, let alone what Nestle does itself to animals. Please look at my post on the Truth on Brands here to read about Nestle. Nestle owning L’Oreal means there are two corrupt companies that profit from animal suffering owning the Body Shop, and both companies are happy to let animals suffer and die to further their brand.

food-brand-map-large-retail-pos-point-of-sale

Finally, I just want to say, I know this is probably a bit of a rant but it makes me angry when people trying to be Cruelty Free are bought in by L’Oreal and the Body Shops lies and think they are buying Cruelty Free. And I hate L’Oreal for how much suffering they cause to animals, along with Estee Lauder, Avon and all those big makeup brands.

download

Please look out for my parent company post and go look at Naturewatch. And PLEASE think about who you are supporting, and the huge amount of suffering they are doing to animals.

Sleepy-Bunny-Gets-a-Kiss-from-His-Human

For the animals xx

21 thoughts on “The Evil that is L’Oreal

  1. I wouldn’t go anywhere near L’oreal, the Body Shop, Avon and many others who try to lead us into believing they are ‘cruelty free’. I research any new company but always go back to the many who I know don’t test eg Marks and Spencer, Superdrug, BWC, just to name a few. It should be publicised much more and I am sure if it was lots more people would not use these products.

    Like

    • Really M&S and Superdrug are cruelty free?? I never knew! I can buy some M&S stuff on the web and they deliver to Spain. Superdrug doesn’t though. What’s the other company you mention I don’t recognise the initials. Thank you 🙂

      Like

      • I have today received the new copy of Naturewatch (which I would highly recommend) and am surprised to learn that they do not have Superdrug down on their FCOD list as they are owned by a company who DO test on animals. (just like Body Shop and Liz Earle). So now I will not buy Superdrug brands. Own name brands from Coop, Waitrose, Aldi, M & S and Tesco are all not tested on animals.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Hi Barbara
        Thank you for that info it will come in very handy. I’m sure I saw somewhere that Tesco’s were not cruelty free but I’ll be happy if they are. My hubby took a group of tourist to London about a month ago and brought me back some tea. After researching all over the place I found only Sainsbury’s were cruelty free and Tescos didn’t come up in that category. I get so confused now seriously. I think it was day before yesterday I saw somewhere that Sainsbury’s were also lying anout being cruelty free. This is just so bad. I think it should be global law that everyone has to tell the complete truth on their packaging from ingredients to animal testing. Consumers have a right to know so they can make their own decisions don’t you think? Thanks again 🙂

        Like

      • Hi Conchita,
        Like you I find it all very confusing but Naturewatch is the best site to visit. Their booklet has all the answers (and it is not dear and they have just brought the the new updated one out). . Morrisons own make has now been approved. Asda is definitely a no-no. I think we are lucky to know M & S & Lush are 100% cos I think both their products are ace. I use the coop also for household products.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Thank you so much Barbara for taking the time to help me out on this!!!! I’ve looked at the Naturewatch.Org page and have bookmarked and I will order the new booklet a.s.a.p. I just got myself some new bras from M&S and didn’t even think to look at the cosmetics and body care stuff. I already purchase loads from Lush (except the deoderants, none of them agree with my skin). So thank you so much again. It’s wonderful to find people like you and blogs like this THAT CARE! I hope you have a wonderful week. All the best, Conchita

        Like

      • Good on you for getting the Naturewatch booklet and supporting Naturewatch!! I really think they are a great organisation.

        I was shocked about Superdrug, and its so annoying because they do so much useful stuff at a decent price! Guess I’ll be buying everything online now…

        Liked by 1 person

      • One item you can get at Superdrug (not their brand) is DIVAWASH. It was really created for cleaning your menstrual cup (The Diva Cup) BUT…..it’s brilliant as a shower gel. I have serious issues with gel in the shower and the pharmacy stuff does stop only increase the problem YET I can use Diva Wash. As Superdrug don’t deliver to Spain I get mine from Canada but you may want to try it. Thanks again Ladies 🙂

        Like

  2. OK so this isn’t really a rant what you really meant to say was that you wrote this for me because I’m one of those stupid people who inside knew the Body Shop was lying and was about to get her husband some cruelty free deoderant because he’s allergic to everything else he’s tried. SO I THANK YOU FOR NOT LETTING ME STUMBLE 😃 Oh and if you can help me on the deo prob I’d be mighty grateful 😃

    Like

      • Hi, tried all the LUSH ones and tried Sola (which is brilliant but he must have an allergy to the baking soda. I used it and it was brilliant then all of a sudden also had an allergic reaction. Then the owner told me to do a clay cleansing treatment and it worked, I can now use it again. Hubby is away so can do treatment on him at present but will do once he returns and see if it works on him too. His reaction was worse than mine though. The cleansing remedy is on WELLNESS MAMA or something like that. Tried another called MEOW which is very good and no allergic reaction but I like the consistency of the SOLA better. Any suggestions? Thank you 🙂

        Like

  3. Sadly, when the Body shop was bought out by L’Oreal in 2006,although they have tried to adhere to their AAT principles, the moving into China is a whole different and dark area.L’Oreal are extremely powerful, the Body shop can no longer fight their indepedence as they did in the early days of the take-over , and I fear for what will happen in the name of animal rights.

    Liked by 1 person

    • As I said in the blog post, I think the Body Shop were a bit shady even before the L’Oreal takeover. I don’t believe the Body Shop is at all bothered about animal welfare, only using it as a gimmick to get more customers, but that is just my opinion.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I worked for the Body Shop for 25 years so I speak from experience.The core of the Body shop was truly about their Values, animal testing being one of them, but over the years many people were employed that were there for the job not the values.Also, L’Oreal really didn’t get it at all with the Body shop, it was very alien to them to give back to society even charities , but I can say that the true , original Body shop employees and Anita and Gordon Roddick,wholeheartedly supported animal rights, it’s a shame that has been lost / forgotton now.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. As Barbara said I would check out the Naturewatch booklet and see what you can buy as they have a complete list – personally I use Sainsburys or the Co-Op and I dont find them irritating on my sensitive skin. Let me know how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am now soooo confused. I keep finding conflicting articles. I am so disappointed to hear that BUAV and Cruelty Free International are also in partnership with The Body Shop. Please could you share a link to this information source as well?

    I can’t get the Ethical Shopping Guide from Naturewatch as I now live in Malaysia. I wish they did it as an online PDF or a phone app, both of which would be better for the environment.

    Does anyone have a simple viewable list of ethical shops and which ones to avoid?

    Thanks, Bea

    Like

    • Hi Bea, what is it you are confused about? Maybe I can help?
      I know its so hard to know who is good and who is not. The Corporate Partnership page on Cruelty Free International has the info – https://www.crueltyfreeinternational.org/what-we-do/corporate-partnerships
      The best thing to do would be to contact them and see what they can do for you, I am sure they would be more than willing to help, maybe send an online version? Contact them and see!
      I can do a list of ethical shops if you like, or if you need help with something I would be happy to message you/write a post about it.
      Let me know, and thanks for commenting!

      Like

      • Thanks dear. I’m ok, It’s just such a vast world when it comes navigating the world of ethical and non-ethical companies. I had no idea that BUAV were linked to unethical activities. That is very disappointing. What I am mostly confused about is whether we should still trust when we see the leaping bunny logo on a product?

        One of my favourite sites is crueltyfreekitty.com
        I also have an app on my phone called Buycott which is quite good. Their website is buycott.com

        Thanks 🙂

        Like

  6. I agree with Midnightflixy. I stick with the three 100% OK ones where I can. M & S, Lush and the Coop. I too am so disappointed with Superdrug. I had started buying a few of their products like toothpaste, body lotion etc but have turned my back on then now. I am sure if you emai Naturewatch they will help you all they can.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The only problem with Marks and Spencers is that they do sell angora and dog leather items……Have to say that has put me off them.
    I no longer buy from Superdrug, I pretty much buy everything online from stores I can trust. I am thinking of writing more cosmetics/brands that are Cruelty Free, if anyone thinks that would be beneficial?
    Naturewatch are an amazing bunch of people who will do everything they can to help anyone on their Cruelty Free journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment