Duty Free Cruelty Free?

I recently went on holiday with my boyfriend and we travelled through Gatwick North Terminal. As many of you know, buying duty free items is significantly less than buying them on the high street, so I was eager to see what was available and if I could snag some of my favourite brands at a good price.

o.jpg

However, I was dismayed to go through the entire lounge at Gatwick and discover that there were NO Cruelty Free brands or items available at the airport. Throughout the entire duty free shop, there were many beauty and perfume brands, however the majority of these were high-end designer brands, all of which were not Cruelty Free. There were also no shops/brands that sell Cruelty Free items outside of the main duty free shops; there were bag shops with leather items (and I do not trust buying leather anymore after my Dog Leather post), alcohol shops, electronic shops, and book shops but no beauty or lifestyle brands to buy from. This meant that I was unable to make ANY purchases, other than food from WH Smiths.

gatwick-airport.jpg

Considering that there are many higher end, trendy brands out there that ARE Cruelty Free, such as Jeffree Star, Too Faced, Illamasqua and Sugarpill, there should be no reason why these brands cannot appear within Gatwicks duty free shops.

illamasqua-984x500.png

I think that this is appalling; Cruelty Free and vegan lifestyles are far more common than they ever use to be and yet they are not catered for or even represented at all within Gatwick Airport. There should be the option to shop at the airport for Cruelty Free/Vegan people, and to take advantage of the duty free perks of being at the airport. Representation of lifestyle choice should be available in all shopping places, as it is to some extent on the high street and Gatwick is simply not representing a large portion of the UK market, which I think is a huge oversight on their part and ultimately means they are losing money, and quite a lot I think as people do stock up at the airport…

sofia-sisniega-peta-latino-cruelty-free-english.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Duty Free Cruelty Free?

  1. NARS is cruelty free, did they not have one? They did in Manchester when we went through yesterday… Urban Decay too, but then you have the loreal issue… It’s so bad. This profit led world makes me sick sometimes xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi LK
      Unfortunately NARS is owned by Shisedo, which is not Cruelty Free, and therefore I will not buy from them. The same with Urban Decay, they are owned by L’Oreal, and Nestle, both of which are not Cruelty Free either. Yes, its all profits above welfare. We as consumers need to make a stand against companies that perform animal testing and show we will not buy their products – hopefully they will eventually listen!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello my friend, another very good point!!!

    I’ve been off the grid a while again due to health. I was in London a couple of weeks back where I broke my “good”, I’m lucky like that! Anyway, long story, short, I had to go back to Spain via plane with my sister and noticed that in Terminal 3 at Heathrow there was NOTHING vegan either. It’s incredible. During my stay at the Chelsea and Westminster Hospital where I was very well taken care of, my only complaint is that for lunch and dinner there were NO VEGAN options either. They had Vegetarian but we know that is not the same and they kept offering me options with cheese, fish, butter etc etc. For some reason they couldn’t grasp the concept of NO ANIMAL INGREDIENTS OR ORIGINS. I basically ate non-organic bread and jam. Like you said, there are more and more of us and it’s incredible that our needs are not catered for.

    I don’t buy anything leather anymore obviously being Vegan, but if I were not, I agree with you exactly in that now you have absolutely no idea what you are buying, it could be dog or cat or even and indian cow that has also been skinned alive. Between them, China and India export the most leather and fur and now NO LEATHER is safe. Best way is to avoid it completely even if you’re not Vegan but you care about animals.

    By the way, just to let you know, a new bill has been passed in Castilla & Leon in Spain prohibiting the killing of the VEGA bull. This is a major win in a very, very long time. Of course the ignorant murderers are trying to contest it but I hope this bill stands it’s ground and spreads to other communities. “El Toro de Vega” is just another horrific, cruel, torturous “fun” celebration from my shameful country.

    At times I really wish I had super powers and health and I would put them all down.

    I hope you are well and thank you so much for always posting “important” issues. Sending love and hugs from me to you and my fur babies to yours, Conchita, xoxox

    Like

Leave a comment